Guild of motoring writers and Jaguar launch 2014 Sir William Lyons Award to discover new talent

  • 2014 competition again follows innovative multi-stage process
  • Embraces modern motoring journalism practices but strong writing still remains at core of Award
  • Proven track record of discovering future top motoring journalists

The Guild of Motoring Writers has today launched the 2014 Jaguar Sir William Lyons Award competition to discover the next up-and-coming motoring journalists aged between 17-23.

The Award, which includes a £2,000 cash prize thanks to the support of Jaguar Cars, will again be run using a multi-stage process that aims to help aspiring motoring journalists showcase the full range of their talents to the judges – and, thanks to an emphasis on social media interaction, to the wider world as well.

Entrants are required to first write a 1,000-word article on ‘What defines a Premium vehicle in 2014?’. Up to six finalists will then be picked by the judges to go through to the second stage, which will run in September.

In this stage, finalists are required to conduct a two-week editorial campaign based around their original article. This includes an analysis piece of their original work, plus a demonstration of their creativity, innovation and engagement with their audience. Once this stage is complete, finalists will submit a full analysis to the judges.

Interviews will then be conducted with the finalists, with the winner revealed at the Guild Annual Dinner at the Royal Automobile Club Pall Mall in December.

The prize package is one of the largest of all the Guild Awards, and includes £2,000 in cash, a handcrafted trophy, two years’ provisional membership of the Guild, an editorial placement with a national motoring title and, above all, widespread industry recognition as being ‘one to watch’.

2012 winner Andrew Brady is the most recent Sir William Lyons Award winner to break into the industry, as editorial assistant at Motoring Research. “Winning the Sir William Lyons Award was the boost I needed to get into the massively competitive industry that is motoring journalism,” he said.

“I’ve had a brilliant time since winning the award two years ago. It’s definitely worth taking the time to enter - you could be the next winner!”

More recently, 2013 finalist Daniel Puddicombe has also now broken through to a full-time career in the motoring industry with Business Car.

Full details of how to enter the 2014 Guild of Motoring Writers Jaguar Sir William Lyons Award are now live on a dedicated hub,, or by emailing Guild General Secretary Patricia Lodge on[email protected].


2013 winner Ciaran O'Donnell Anderson receives Sir William Lyons Award from Jaguar Land Rover PR Director Fiona Pargeter (Photo: Jeff Bloxham)


Richard Aucock
Press Officer
The Guild of Motoring Writers

To find out more about what the Guild offers, visit Keep up to date on Twitter @gomw_uk, Facebook at, YouTube at and Flickr at

Guild membership costs from as little as £66 a year. All members receive the Guild Year Book, an indispensable and comprehensive industry directory, plus a regular e-newsletter. There are also generous discounts and preferential rates from a wide range of organisations.

Press release distributed by Pressat on behalf of Pressat Wire, on Thursday 14 August, 2014. For more information subscribe and follow

Published By

Pressat Wire

Pressat Wire
[email protected]

Alison Lancaster
[email protected]

Visit Newsroom


* For more information regarding media usage, ownership and rights please contact the the organisation directly.

Additional PR Formats